August 22, 2009

Who Am I?

Posted in Christian Music, Christianity at 7:39 pm by bryantc17

Oy Vey it’s been a long long while ladies and gentlemen.  So I haven’t forgotten about this blog.  As I posted in June, I’ve been busy, super busy.  You see I’ve been so busy that if you don’t know who I am, all you know about me is that I write this blog.  So while you might expect this post to be about the Casting Crowns song “Who Am I?” it’s actually about me… how selfish is that?

My name is Bryant and I was baptized when I was 9 but did feel God’s call in my life until I was 13 and began reading the Bible.  I was Word thirsty and eventually finished reading it when I was a senior in high school.  Somewhere along the way I noticed that the scriptures revealed characteristics about God and his Providence that my church wouldn’t touch on despite walking through Romans.  Those characteristics were the 5 points of Calvinism, which through my study of the word I agree with.  As I’ve said in posts before I’ve had some faith testing events in my life that could have resulted in me not trusting God’s plan for my life, but by the grace of God I was able to stand on His good and perfect Word.

I married my high school sweetheart nearly two years ago after dating for 3 years.  She’s pretty awesome.  She’s beautiful and loves to cook (and is great at it).  We both attended the University of Tennessee “enjoyed” 4 years of terrible football… to be fair one year was all right because we got to the SEC championship due to a technicality.  I graduated in Accounting and returned this fall to pursue a Master of Accountancy degree.  The reason I haven’t been posting is because I’ve been studying during all of my free time for the CPA exam so that I may be one day a Certified Public Accountant.  I took two exams this summer while I entered for one of the Big 4 accounting firms, where I will be working when I finish up my degree.  Let me just say that working and studying is terrible.  Imagine working 55 hour weeks performing a sit down intellectual job then sitting down and studying until you are ready to pass out.  That was how my summer was.  Just today I received the score of one of the two tests I took this summer and I passed!  I’m 1/4 a CPA right now and it feels amazing.

I really enjoy studying theology.  It’s frustrating for me because I don’t have the time that I wish I could to sit down and read some Calvin or Lewis or Driscoll, etc.  All I have time to read is accounting related stuff and let me tell you that is very uninteresting 90% of the time.  I try to listen to podcasts when I can, but I do attend a really good church here in Knoxville.  The teaching at Fellowship Church never ceases to amaze me.  It’s not about the band that plays or the number of people that attend, it’s about Christ Jesus.

I hope this gives you a little more background on me and where I come from when I write certain things.  I didn’t start this to blog about my life (but obviously it happens) but to bring you some perspective on Christian music.  It’s funny.  I’ve got a ridiculous ear for music.  I can identify a song in less than two seconds based on the baseline, etc.  I can’t sing which might be why I don’t enjoy Chris Tomlin as much as everybody else… his range is simply too high for me to sing along.  I can play a little guitar but it doesn’t seem to be something worth me pursuing.  But I do love listening to music, good music.  And that is why I do this.

1 Comment »

  1. lj said,

    🙂


Leave a Reply

