May 18, 2009

More dents in the fender

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 11:59 am by Bryant

I’m into lyrics… it bothers me when I see or hear, which ever happens first, scripture used when it is not completely appropriate.  You might also know if you have read any of my posts that I am not a fan of Francesca Battistelli’s CCM #1 hit “Free To Be Me”.  Here’s yet another reason with a visual aid.
The first stanza reads:

“At twenty years of age I’m still looking for a dream
A war’s already waged for my destiny
But You’ve already won the battle
And You’ve got great plans for me
Though I can’t always see”

There’s a decent chance that this is a play off of

Jer 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Hope in Jesus Christ does not always provide us with the easy life.  We must accept both sides of this otherwise martyrdom goes against the Gospel. The last time I heard “Free To Be Me” this image popped into my mind:
god-loves-you
This cracked me up because it goes against 21st Century Post Modern Christianity or as it might be more PC to say “The modern perception of Christianity”.

Go to http://betweenthetimes.com/2009/04/23/front-cover-of-a-new-gospel-tract-published-by-sebts/ to read the comments left for this photo that drives the point home.  What is wonderful for God brings him glory, we must remember this.

2 Comments »

  1. Nick Blackmon said,

    That little comic cracks me up to man. God does have great plans for her, and he has already one the battle, but you are right to say that we don’t tend to think that his greatest plan for us could be matryrdom, which is a beautiful thing in his eyes and brings him much glory.

  2. Logan said,

    “A war’s already waged for my destiny
    But You’ve already won the battle”

    I like that line. Those lines specifically (not really the rest of the song) remind me of a song by Michael Card (an older artist who I would highly recommend- especially for someone who loves lyrics like you do (I’m one of those too). Anyways he has a song called “No Rusty Swords”.

    Some lyrics:
    “He became like us so we would have
    A chance to be like Him
    It seems strange so many fall back
    When the victory has been won”

    The chorus:
    “Don’t you know the battle’s raging
    And you got to join the fight
    There’s an army of the darkness
    And an army of the Light
    There’s a side that fights for Satan
    And a side that’s for the Lord
    And on this battle field there
    are no rusty swords
    And on this battle field there
    are no rusty swords
    Christ has made the final move
    So our side is sure to win”

    Lyrics:
    http://www.mp3lyrics.org/m/michael-card/no-rusty-swords/

    Anyways, solid posting, man. I went through and read them all today (you find you have time on your hands when you’re not in school and can’t find a job) and I like your thinking.


Leave a Reply

